‘Maisons de Force’ 1991 in Statecraft

National Museum of Contemporary Art – EMST, Athens, Greece

From 17 June – 30 October 2022 the National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens – EMST is exhibiting our sculpture / installation “Maisons de Force’ 1991 in ‘Statecraft’  the flagship exhibition of the Museum’s new programme under the artistic direction of Katerina Gregos.

The art work is on loan from the Dimitris Daskalopoulos Collection and will now become part of the Museum’s permanent collection. ‘Statecraft’ examines the structure, the ideological power of speech and mechanisms of the construction of the nation and the state.

‘Maisons de Force’ consists of a row of seven white chairs with glass encased seats containing architectural models of prisons from Europe and north America dating from the late C18 to the late C20. The chairs are lit from above so the plan of each building is cast in shadow on the surface of the plinth below.


Blackburn’s County Gaol, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Youth Correctional Facility, Erlestoke, Ohio, USA
Maximum Security Prison, San Diego, CA. USA
The Narenturm, Vienna, Austria
Hameln Prison, Hameln, Germany
Rebibia Prison, Rome, Italy
Bridewell Prison, Edinburgh, Scotland
View of installation, ‘Architecture(s)’ capc Musée, Bordeaux, France 1995
View of installation, ‘Young British Artists’, Saatchi Collection, London 1992

‘Statecraft’ Participating Artists:

Bani Abidi 1971 (Pakistan)
Ewa Axelrad 1984 (Poland)
Zany Begg 1972 (Australia)
Loulou Cherinet 1970 (Sweden)
Koken Ergun 1976 (Turkey)
Ivan Grubanov 1976 (Serbia)
Lise Harlev 1973 (Denmark)
Femke Herregraven 1982 (Netherlands)
Eleni Kamma 1973 (Greece, Cyprus)
Thomas Kilpper 1956 (Germany)
Panos Kokkinias 1965 (Greece)
Stéphanie Lagarde 1982 (France)
Langlands & Bell 1955 / 1959 (UK)
Ella Litwitz 1982 (Israel)
Liu Chang 1972 (China)
Thomas Locher 1956 (Germany)
Cristina Lucas 1973 (Spain)
Tanja Muravskaja 1978 (Estonia)
Marina Naprushkina 1981 (Belarus)
Kristina Norman 1979 (Estonia)
Daniela Ortiz 1985 (Peru)
Trevor Paglen 1975 (USA)
Antonis Pittas 1973 (Greece)
Oliver Ressler 1970 (Austria)
Jaanus Samma 1982 (Estonia)
Larisssa Sansour 1973 (Denmark / Palestine)
Jonas Staal 1981 (Netherlands)
Anastasis Stratakis 1985 (Greece)
Kisspal Szabolcz 1967 (Hungary)
Vangelis Vlahos 1971 (Greece)